NT Rama Rao (1923-1996):  NTR, who is known as ‘messiah’ of the poor, was honored with the National Film Awards thrice. He started his political innings by forming Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in 1982.

In 1983, his nine-month old TDP gained two-third majority in the Andhra Pradesh assembly elections. NTR was the first non-Congress Chief Minister of the state. He also happened to be the first leader in the country for undertaking rath yatra during his poll campaign.

NTR played a significant role in forming the National Front government at the Center in 1989. Currently, his son-in-law Chandrababu Naidu is running the party affairs.

After the formation of separate state of Telangana, he is trying to win elections in alliance with BJP. However, the TDP is yet to seal the deal with the saffron party.

Chiranjeevi: He started his filmy career in 1978. His supporters compared his fame with that of Amitabh Bachchan. Chiranjeevi was the first south Indian star to participate in the 1987 Oscar Awards ceremony. He gained much applaud for his acting skills in popular Bollywood movies including ‘Aaj ka gunda raj’ and ‘Pratibandh’.

He started his political career in 2008 by floating Praja Rajyam Party (PRP) in Andhra Pradesh. He made his presence felt in the 2009 assembly elections by winning as many as 18 seats.

In 2011, PRP merged with Congress. He is the Union Minister of State for Tourism (Independent Charge). After bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh, he is fighting for political survival in the seemandhra region.

Pawan Kalyan: Telugu superstar Kalyan is the younger brother of actor-turned-politician Chiranjeevi. He mounted problem for his elder brother by floating Jan Sena Party (JSP) last month as both the brothers share same political ground in the state.

Raising the slogan of ‘Congress Hatao-Desh Bachao’, Kalyan met BJP’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi.

Jaya Prada (51): Born in Rajmundari, Jaya stepped into politics in 1994 after playing a successful innings in Bollywood. NTR brought Jaya to politics. She was elected to Rajya Sabha from Andhra Pradesh in 1996 on TDP ticket. After cropping up of differences with Chandrababu Naidu, she quit TDP to join Samajwadi Party (SP).

She was elected to the Lok Sabha from Rampur constituency in Uttar Pradesh twice as SP candidate. Later, she along with former SP leader Amar Singh decided to leave the party in 2010.
Now, she is contesting LS polls from Bijnour on RLD ticket.

Nagma (39):  After gaining much accomplishment for her acting skills in Telugu, Tamil, Hindi and Bojpuri films, she is trying her luck in Lok Sabha polls from Meerut on Congress ticket.