New Delhi: Chennai Super Kings breezed into the final of the Pepsi IPL for the fourth straight time with a thumping 48-run win over Mumbai Indians in the first qualifier on Tuesday.


Riding on pyrotechnics of Mike Hussey (86) and Suresh Raina (82), CSK posted a massive 192 for one and then did well to bowl out Mumbai Indians for 144 in 18.4 overs.
Mumbai Indians' last nine wickets fell for 57 runs. Mumbai will however get another chance to qualify for the final when they meet winner of the the second qualifier between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals.
For the record, CSK has made it to the fifth final in six editions of the cash-rich league. The only time they failed to make it to the title round was the second edition held in South Africa where they lost in the semi-finals.
En route their win, Hussey (732 runs) and Dwayne Bravo (28 wickets) also retained the ‘Orange’ and ‘Purple’ Cap respectively.
Dwayne Smith’s big-hitting prowess is well documented and while chasing a target of 193, one needed to be aggressive from the word ‘go’. He hit a blazing 28-ball 68 but after his fall, Mumbai lost wickets in heap.
The mayhem couldn’t have continued forever and Dhoni introduced one of his ‘Go-To’ Man Ravindra Jadeja (3/31) which turned out to be the masterstroke.
Smith misread the length, his mistimed shot ballooned up and Raina completed the formalities.
Jadeja then bowled an arm ball which caught Karthik plumb in-front trying a sweep shot. Skipper Rohit Sharma was then holed out in the deep off Morris and MI slumped to 101 for four from a relatively strong 87 for one.
Kieron Pollard did hit a couple big sixes off Jadeja but gave a simple catch to short fine leg fielder inside the circle trying to flick one. With Pollard back in the dug-out, a victory was out of question.
Earlier Hussey and Raina today took the Mumbai Indians attack to the cleaners.
Hussey, known as 'Mr Cricket', delighted the sell-out crowd with his amazing array of strokes as he scored an unbeaten 86 off 58 balls with the help of 10 boundaries and two shots over the fence.
He was ably complemented by the ever-dependable Suresh Raina who smashed his way to a breathtaking 42-ball-82 that had five boundaries and an equal number of huge sixes.
The duo put on astonishing 140 runs for the second wicket in 12.4 overs as CSK put on an imposing total on a low and slow Feroze Shah Kotla track after electing to bat.
The duo scored 123 runs in the last 10 overs with both going on the rampage. The southpaws were on song as they played some breathtaking shots in the cover region. Both matched each other stroke for stroke with MI bowlers dishing out one full-toss after other.
CSK's ‘Man Friday’ Hussey started off with a boundary as Johnson fed him one on his legs. The normally profligate Munaf Patel was hit for successive boundaries by Vijay as 12 runs came of that over.
Kieron Pollard proved to be the man with ‘Golden Arm’ as Vijay slogged lazily and was holed out in the deep mid-wicket region by Dwayne Smith.


Chennai Super Kings: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (C), Mike Hussey, Murali Vijay, Suresh Raina, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, S Badrinath, Chris Morris, R Ashwin, Albie Morkel and Mohit Sharma.
Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (C), Dwayne Smith, Aditya Tare, Amabti Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Kieron Pollard, Mitchel Johnson, Harbhajan Singh, Munaf Patel, Lasith Malinga and Pragyan Ojha.


Latest News from Sports News Desk