CSK has made the last four in each and every edition of IPL, including four straight final appearances and two back to back titles in 2010 and 2011.The team has finished runners up thrice in 2008, 2012 and 2013.

READ MORE: CSK look to put behind off-field controversies, start on high
Such has been their might that three years without a title is being considered a trophy drought and they would look to bounce back and silence the critics.

One of the main reasons of CSK's astonishing success is they have retained the core group of players in last seven years.

The induction of New Zealand skipper Brendon McCullum in the last season has made the tem more formidable in the cash rich league.

Here is a SWOT analysis of CSK

Strength: From number one to number 11, CSK is full of players who can change the course of game on its own. McCullam and West Indian Dwyane Smith in the opening slot, followed by IPL's highest run getter Suresh Raina, Micheal Hussey, Faf Du Plessis, ever reliable Dhoni, Dwayne Bravo in the middle order is enough to thrash any team in the tourney. All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin has also the ability to finish the job with the bat.

Weakness: It is very hard to fine weak links in CSK, which is the most consistent team of the cash rich IPL. Off-fieled issues such as spot fixing scandal may hamper team's performance. Besides that the team lacks a big name in bowling department.

Opportunities: Three years without a trophy is hard to imagine for a team like CSK and the team will leave no stone unturned to win the coveted trophy this year.

Threats: Complacency will be biggest threat for the Mahendra Singh Dhoni's team. By winning IPL and Champions League twice, the team has achieved everything and motivating players at crucial moments will may prove hard for even a captain like Dhoni.


MS Dhoni (capt), Suresh Raina, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohit Sharma, Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith, Faf Du Plessis, Matt Henry, Samuel Badree, Michael Hussey, Kyle Abbott, Andrew Tye, Pawan Negi, Ashish Nehra, Baba Aparajith, Ishwar Pandey,
Mithun Manhas, Ronit More, Rahul Sharma, Ankush Bains, Irfan Pathan, Pratyush Singh, Eklavya Dwivedi.

Latest News from Sports News Desk