New Delhi: Riding on captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni's blistering 20-ball 51-run innings, defending champions Chennai Super Kings romped into the second qualifiers by knocking out Mumbai Indians with a comfortable 38-run victory in the IPL eliminator clash on Wednesday.

View Scorecard: Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians

IPL Results | IPL Schedule

With this win, Chennai inched closer to their third successive title and will now lock horns with Delhi Daredevils on Friday at home in the qualifier-II, the winner of which will take on Kolkata Knight Riders in the summit clash on Sunday at the same venue.

The thrilling victory at the M Chinnaswamy stadium here also paved Chennai's way to the next Champions League.

The victory was set up by two brilliant partnerships by Chennai batsmen. First it was the 94-run third-wicket stand between S Badrinath (47) and Michael Hussey (49), which helped Chennai to recover after being precariously placed at 1 for 2 in 1.2 overs.

While the second partnership was the unbeaten 73-run stand between skipper Dhoni (51 off 20) and Dwayne Bravo (33 off 14), which catapulted Chennai to a challenging 187 for five in their stipulated 20 overs.

It was a special innings by Dhoni as he butchered the Mumbai bowlers, blasting six fours and two sixes in his 20-ball whirlwind innings.

For Mumbai, Dhawal Kulkarni (3/46) was the most successful bowler, while Kieron Pollard (1/26) and James Franklin (1/12) took one wicket each.

Chasing the stiff target, Mumbai could muster only 149 for nine in their stipulated 20 overs with opener Dwayne Smith (38) being the top-scorer.

The Chennai bowlers also put up a brilliant show with Dwayne Bravo (2/10) and Albie Morkel (2/31) making the most damage, while SB Jakati    (1/25), BW Hilfenhaus (1/45), R Ashwin (1/18), RA Jadeja    (1/15) also contributing to the win.


M Vijay, MEK Hussey, SK Raina, MS Dhoni (Captain), DJ Bravo, RA Jadeja, JA Morkel, R Ashwin, BW Hilfenhaus, SB Jakati, S Badrinath

DR Smith, SR Tendulkar, RG Sharma, KD Karthik, AT Rayudu, JEC Franklin, KA Pollard, Harbhajan Singh (Captain), SL Malinga, RP Singh, DS Kulkarni