"Higher Education Department has given information to Chhattisgarh Lok Ayog that it has seriously considered the complaints received against the non-accredited universities and have issued letters to Superintendents of Police (SPs) of respective districts for taking immediate legal action against such institutions," an official statement here said today.
Notably, the Chief Lokayukta has directed the Higher Education Department to submit the list of such universities, consisting of details like their vice chancellors, office addresses, mobile numbers etc. within 15 days.
The Chief Lokayukta issued these orders after perusing the report submitted by Higher Education Department officials yesterday.
In his report submitted to the Lok Ayog, Additional Director, Higher Education Department, Dr R B Subramanyam said that as many as 23 universities are recognised by the state government.
They include Indira Art and Music University Khairagarh, Pt Ravishankar Shukla University Raipur, Indira Gandhi Agriculture University Raipur, Kushabhau Thakre University for Journalism and Mass Communication, Ayush and Health Science University Raipur, Kamdhenu University Durg, Bastar University Jagdalpur.
Besides, the universities recognised by the Central Government in Chhattisgarh are: Guru Ghasidas University Bilaspur, National Institute of Technology (NIT) Raipur, Indian Institute of Information and Technology (IIIT) Raipur, All India Institute of Medical Science (AIIMS) Raipur, Indira Gandhi National Open University New Delhi.
Except the aforementioned universities, no other university has been accredited in Chhattisgarh, according to the Higher Education Department.

Latest News from Chhattisgarh News Desk