"The Governor submitted his resignation papers to President Pranab Mukherjee last night in New Delhi," Amitabh Jain, Secretary to Governor, said.

BL Joshi steps down as Governor of UP

Dutt had taken charge as the Governor of Chhattisgarh in January 2010.

Dutt’s resignation comes barely two days after Uttar Pradesh Governor BL Joshi stepped down.

According to sources, Modi-led government wants to replace all the six Governors appointed by the UPA. The names follow as MK Narayanan in West Bengal, Sheila Dikshit in Kerala, Margaret Alva in Rajasthan, Kamla Beniwal in Gujarat, K Sankaranarayanan in Maharashtra and Devendra Konwar in Tripura.

The government is likely to request Mukherjee to ask for the resignations of the aforesaid Governors.

Meanwhile, Maharashtra Governor K Sankaranarayanan on Wednesday said that he would consider quitting only if an ‘appropriate decision-making authority’ asks him to do so.

"Union Home Secretary Anil Goswami called me twice during last week asking to demit office. I didn't reply to him anything...the Governor's post is a constitutional post. He is a representative of the President, he is appointed by the President. No responsible person has asked me anything in writing to be relieved of the post,” he said.

In 2004, when the UPA government replaced the NDA at Centre, they also changed the Governors before their term was over. The names included Babu Parmanand of Haryana), Vishnu Kant Shastri of Uttar Pradesh, Kidar Nath Sahani of Goa and Kailashpati Mishra of Gujarat.


Latest News from India News Desk