State Election Commissioner P C Dalei made this announcement in a press conference here.
With the announcement of polls, the model code of conduct has come into force in 27 zilla panchayats, 146 janpad panchayats and 10,955 gram panchayats, he said.
"The polls will elect 402 zilla panchayat members, 2,973 janpad panchayat members, 10,955 sarpanch and 1,55,595 panch. The polling process will be started from December 31, 2014 and conclude on February 5 next year," Dalei said.
As many as 63,684 wards of 55 development blocks will go to polls in the first phase on January 24, while 37,112 wards of 38 development blocks will have the elections on January 28, he said.
Besides, polling in 54,799 wards of 53 development blocks will be held on February 1, he said.
The counting will be held on the same day of polling in all the phases, he added.
1,35,06,253 voters, with 67,97,039 men and 67,09,214 women, are eligible to exercise their franchise in the polls for which 28,537 polling stations will be set up, he said.
So far, 10,588 polling booths have been identified as sensitive, while 4,513 as hyper sensitive across the state.
Elaborate security arrangements will be made at all polling stations to ensure fair and peaceful polling, Dalei said.
The polling time in the insurgency-hit Narayanpur, Dantewada, Sukma, Bijapur districts and Koyalibeda, Antagarh, Bhanupratappur, and Durgukondal blocks of Kanker district will be from 8 AM to 3 PM and rest of the panchayat bodies will see polling between 8 AM and 5 PM in the evening.
According to Dalei, ballot boxes and voting papers will be used for the voting.

Latest News from States News Desk