Eight national teams will be playing in the final round.

The decision in this regard was taken during a meeting of state government officials and Hockey India Federation. The meeting was chaired by Chief Minister Raman Singh.

"Hockey is quite popular in Chhattisgarh and it has given many national-international hockey players. To keep up this tradition of glory, as many national-international tournaments as possible should be organised," the CM was quoted as saying in an official release.

He directed the public works department and sports department in particular to chalk out action plan and to make necessary arrangements for the event.

At the meeting, President, Hockey India Federation Narendra Batra gave a presentation on activities and achievements of the federation.

Latest News from Sports News Desk