A chronology of events of her life is as follows:
June 24, 1991: Jayalalithaa became Tamil Nadu CM.
May, 1996: Amidst charges of corruption, AIADMK lost assembly polls. DMK returned to power.
July 11, 1996: Subramanian Swamy filed a private complaint in a court accusing Jayalalithaa of amassing wealth worth Rs 66.65 crore disproportionate to her known sources of income during 1991 to 1996.
Dec 7, 1996: She was arrested on corruption charges.

1999: Jaya was discharged in coal import deal case by special court.
February 2, 2000: Special court convicted Jaya in Pleasant Stay Hotel case.
October, 2000: A special court in Chennai convicted Jayalalithaa in TANSI land deal case.
May 14, 2001: Jaya returned to power; though she was disqualified to contest polls.
September 21, 2001: Jayalalithaa resigned as CM after SC quashed her appointment.
December 4, 2001: Madras HC acquitted her in  TANSI case and Pleasant Stay Hotel case.
March 2, 2002: She became CM again.
November 24, 2003: The Apex Court upheld her acquittal in TANSI case.
May 11, 2006: AIADMK lost poll and DMK returned to power.
May 16, 2011: She led AIADMK victory in assembly polls.
September 27, 2014: Jayalalithaa and three others were held guilty of corruption, awarded four years jail term, slapped Rs 100 crore fine on her, Rs 10 crore each on three other accused.
October 18, 2014: The SC granted her bail.
May 11, 2015: Karnataka HC acquitted Jayalaithaa.
May 22, 2015: Jayalalithaa elected Leader of AIADMK Legislature party.
May 23, 2015:
She was sworn-in as Tamil Nadu CM for fifth time.

Latest News from State News Desk