Mumbai: Polling for 10 municipal corporations across Maharashtra, including Mumbai, to decide the fate of 1,244 candidates, began on Thursday morning amidst tight security.

The elections are being held in Thane, Ulhasnagar, Pune, Pimpri-Chinchwad, Solapur, Nashik, Akola, Amravati, Nagpur and Mumbai Municipal Corporation, where a triangular contest is on cards between the Congress-NCP combine, Shiv Sena-BJP-RPI alliance and the Raj Thackeray-led MNS.

The 10 civic bodies have an electorate of 2.02 crore. In the 227-seat Mumbai Corporation, the election is a fiercely fought affair. It is a challenge for the Congress-NCP combine which aims to dethrone the Sena-BJP combine, at the helm of civic affairs for the last 16 years.

Polling was held up on Thursday in a booth in Nagpur following complaints of EVM malfunction.

In Mumbai, police have beefed up security measures to ensure smooth voting in the city. A total of 2,375 police officers and 20,000 policemen have been deployed at polling booths across the metropolis.

Almost 2,000 home guards and personnel of the State Reserve Police Force and Rapid Action Force have been deployed at strategic locations.