While Rohit bludgeoned his way to an unbeaten 51 off 24 deliveries, Dwayne Smith also played a blinder as he smashed a 25-ball 48 at the top to enable MI achieve the target with as many as 40 balls to spare.
Mumbai were required to chase the target in 14.2 overs to make it to the last-four stage of the tournament, and they did it in 13.2.
Rohit smashed three boundaries and four sixes while putting on a solid 65-run stand for the fourth wicket with Kieron Pollard (23) off just 37 balls.
Earlier, some fine bowling by Nathan Coulter-Nile and Pragyan Ojha helped Mumbai restrict the Scorchers to 149 for six at the Feroz Shah Kotla ground.
In reply, opener Smith gave Mumbai Indians a rollicking start even as veteran Sachin Tendulkar disappointed the full house once again, getting out without scoring big when he was caught at the deep square leg by Sam Whiteman off Jason Behrendorff's bowling.
But that did not affect the in-form Smith, who sent the Scorchers' bowlers on a leatherhunt, smashing boundaries at will.
Though Glenn Maxwell (10 off seven balls) got out cheaply, Smith continued in the able company of Rohit.      

The duo put on 38 runs together for the third wicket in just 2.2 overs and took the team past fifty in only 32 balls.
It was the experienced Brad Hogg, who finally got the prized wicket of dangerman Smith as Behrendorff took a brilliant catch at the boundary.
Rohit, however, was unmoved by his partner's dismissal and continued to play his shots with ease. He along with the hard-hitting Pollard made sure that Mumbai run-rate didn't drop.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (c), Sachin Tendulkar, Dwayne Smith, Dinesh Karthik, Kieron Pollard, Glenn Maxwell, Ambati Rayudu, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Harbhajan Singh, Rishi Dhawan, Pragyan Ojha.
Perth Scorchers: Simon Katich, Ashton Agar, Sam Whiteman, Marcus North, Hilton Cartwright, Ashton Turner, Tom Triffitt†, Joel Paris, Jason Behrendorff, Brad Hogg, Michael Beer.


Latest News from Sports News Desk