Chandigarh: Congress and Akali Dal-BJP combine appeared to be in a neck and neck race in the Punjab Assembly polls with both the parties leading in 18 seats each.

According to early trends available for 39 seats, both the parties were leading in 18 seats each with others leading in three seats.

SAD candidate Veer Singh Lopoke was leading over his nearest rival Sukhbinder Singh Sarkaria of the Congress from Raja Sansi assembly segment by 668 votes.

From Ghanaur segment, Congress' Madan Lal Jalalpur was had a slender lead of 7 votes over his nearest rival Harinder Singh of the CPM.

In Gurdaspur, SAD's Gurbachan Singh Babbehali was leading over his nearest Congress rival Raman Behl by a narrow margin of 10 votes in early trends from the constituency.

In Phagwara, BJP's Som Prakash was leading over Balbir Kumar Sodhi of the Congress by 600 votes.

Education Minister Upinderjit Kaur was leading over her nearest rival Navtej Sidhu from Sultanpur Lodhi assembly constituency.