New Delhi: The candidates list released by the Congress ahead of MCD polls has given a serious jolt to the councillors who have been denied party tickets this year. It includes those whose seats have now been reserved for women candidates. More so, the party has given motherly treatment to those candidates who have unreserved seats in their share and also to those who failed to win the last elections.

The prominent councillors who have been dropped this year are- three time winner from Madangir Pannalal Khairwal, Tulsiram Sablaniya from East Patel Nagar, Krishna Murari Jataav from Kucha Pandit and N Raja from Shakoorpur Pramod Kumar, councillor from Dakshinpuri seat has also been sacrificed for the reserved seat for women. However, Kumar, son of former state assembly Speaker Chaudhary Prem Singh will contest election from Ambedkar Nagar seat.

The Congress has fielded Leader of the Opposition in the state assembly Jai Kishan Sharma from Nazafgarh seat. Sharma is a councillor from Roshanpura but the seat has been reserved for women this year. Sitting MLAs who were fortunate to receive ticket this year are Chaudhary Ajeet, Razia Sultana, Mukesh Goyal , Shalu Malik, Satveer Sharma, Mamata Joshi, Dr Anita Babbar, Tilottama Chaudhari, Rajpal Solanki, Farhad Suri, Darshana Hemchand Goyal others.

Interestingly, councillors who were defeated in the last MCD polls have been given tickets this year. It includes names like Ramesh Dutta, Variyam Kaur, Ramesh Pandit, Sanjaypuri , Ravi Kalsi, Zameer Ahmed Munna, Virendra Kasana whose political fortune are at stake.