Chandigarh: Punjab Congress president Captain Amrinder Singh on Saturday expelled 12 rebel leaders who refused to withdraw from the electoral fray despite repeated warnings. The primary membership of the rebels was also cancelled.

According to the Congress spokesperson, those ousted from the party include Ashok Sharma, Sucha Singh Chhotepur from Pathankot, Baljit Singh Bhatti from Baba Bakala, Sukhjinder Singh Lali Majithia from Majitha, Ram Kishen Kataria from Balachaur, Haripal from Chamkaur Sahib, former Pradhan of Ludhiana (rural) Bhalinder Singh, former Pradhan of Ludhinana (urban) Jagmohan Sharma, former minister Harbans Lal, former legislators Ravinder Babbal, Upender Sharma and Gurbir Singh Sandhi from Jalalabad.

Captain Amrinder Singh also issued strict warning for those party representatives who are not co-operating with the fielded candidates in various constituencies.

He said, “The observers are keeping a strict watch on the activities of all the leaders and if any leader is found to be missing from the campaign scene, will invite action.”