Dehradun: Eyeing on a Rajya Sabha seat from Uttarakhand which is going to be vacant the next month, both the Congress and the BJP have adopted a wait and watch policy amid ongoing bickering in Uttarakhand unit of the Congress Party.
Owing to current dissensions within the Congress in the state, a clear picture is yet to emerge.

BJP high command has already given green signal to field its candidate for RS election.  Nirmala Sitharaman and industrialist Gautam Morarka are the top contenders for the BJP ticket. The Congress may field Suresh Pachauri as its nominee. 

Three Rajya Sabha MPs are elected from Uttarakhand, out of which election process for the one seat is round the corner.

The RS seat on which election will be held on March 30 is currently represented by senior Congress leader Satyavrat Chaurvedi.

Though, the Congress Party is in power in the state but owing to displeasure of the party MLAs over the appointment of Vijay Bahuguna as the state CM, it seems difficult for the party to get its candidate win the RS seat.

The tug of war within Congress’ state unit has also amounted to its woes.  14 pro-Harish Rawat MLAs had skipped the oath taking ceremony making it tougher for Congress to win RS election.

If the party fails to win back the support of MLAs before March 19, the last date of filing nomination papers for the seat, then it would be difficult for the party to field its candidate for the seat.

Along with Suresh Pachauri, several other local leaders’ names are also figuring as contenders for the seat.