Punia who has been fielded by the party high command would have to depend on the votes of other parties as Congress with the strength of 28 Legislators would not be able to help him see through alone as in case of election, he would require a minimum of 37 votes in the 403 member house.

The biennial election for 10 seats of Rajya Sabha, whose term is expiring on November 25, is slated for November 20.
The Rajya Sabha members whose term is expiring are – Akhilesh Das, Avtar Singh Karimpuri, Brijlal Khabari, Brijesh Pathak, Raja Ram and, Veer Singh (all Bahujan Samajwadi Party), Amar Singh and Ram Gopal Yadav (both Samajwadi Party), Kusum Rai (BJP) and Mohammad Adeeb (Congress).

As per the party's strength in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly,the ruling Samajwadi Party can win six seats, the Bahujan Samajwadi Party, two and BJP one and one by Congress with support of other parties.