"District general secretaries of Congress in Murshidabad, Abul Kasem, Mofiuddin Mondal and Nirmal Dutta today joined the Trinamool Congress along with several party workers and supporters," TMC general secretary Mukul Roy told a press conference at Trinamool Bhavan.

Nine Congress members of Margram village panchayat and five of Elwari panchayat also joined the ruling party.

"It is to participate in the development process and activities initiated by Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee that leaders and members of different political parties are joining the Trinamool Congress," Roy said.

The Trinamool Congress first made a dent in the Congress stronghold in the district by winning two seats in the recent Baharampore Municipality elections, where it did not have any presence earlier.

Roy said that some CPI-ML members in Burdwan district have also joined the party.


Latest News from West Bengal News Desk