Dehradun: Even it has mustered the much needed support of four MLAs to form its government in the hill state; Congress leadership may find it hard to weather a possible storm erupting among its MLAs to acquire ministerial birth.

Among 32 MLAs, only eight Congress MLAs can get ministerial chair as the party has already promised three independents and a lone UKD MLA to award ministries.

As around 32 MLAs including some ex-ministers are in fray as contenders for the eight ministerial births, internal wrangling to occupy chair is sure to give party leadership some sleepless nights.

Out of these 32 MLAs, 14 are such that if they are denied ministerial post, it can hamper the party’s prospect of forming government in the state.

The party has three CM candidates. State party chief Yashpal Arya, Dr Harak Singh Rawat, and former minister Indira Hrideshya, two of these are sure to get ministries if not the top post.

Union minister Harish Rawat is also among the list of probables for the top post.  

Pritam Singh, Govind Singh and Amrita Rao are former ministers and have been winning elections for the last three consecutive terms, hence party will have to think twice before refusing a ministerial birth for them. Also Surendra Singh Negi is former minister and in this elections he defeated BJP’s projected CM candidate BS Khanduri and hence a strong contender for a ministry.

Indeed, state congress unit has long list of claimants for ministerial posts which can put the party leadership in a fix. It wouldn’t be surprising if the party gives away maximum number of MLAs with red beacon cars.