Shillong: The ruling Congress is leading in 13 of the 60 seats in Meghalaya while the United Democratic Party is leading in three constituencies.
Congress chief and former chief minister D D Lapang is leading over UDP candidate Roma Khymdeit by over 1000 votes in 9-Nongpoh constituency.

LIVE: Counting of votes begins in Meghalaya
Out of the 122 Independent candidates, whose fate is to be decided in a few hours, four Independent candidates are leading in their respective constituencies – two from Garo Hills region while two are from Khasi Hills region.
HSPDP chief Hopingstone Lyngdoh, who is set to retain his seat from 32-Nongstoin constituency in West khasi Hills district, is leading while his former protégé in the last election and rival A Pariong is trailing by over 900 votes.

Highlights of Meghalaya Assembly Polls
Total number of seats: 60
Total candidates: 345
Political parties contesting seats: Congress: 60 seats, UDP: 50 seats,  P A Sangma-led NPP: 32 seats, NCP: 21, BJP: 13
Prominent candidates: Chief Minister Mukul Sangma, Meghalaya Congress chief DD Lapang, Home Minister HDR Lyngdoh, Education Minister RC Laloo, UDP president Don Kupar Roy, former Leader of Opposition and son of PA Sangma Conrad K Sangma and his brother James Sangma

Prominent leaders among the total 345 candidates whose fate would be decided are HSPDP President Hopingstone Lyngdoh, who had never lost a single election since Meghalaya attained statehood in 1972, besides four former Chief Ministers, including Mukul Sangma of the outgoing house.
The three other Chief Ministers are D D  Lapang, who is also the state Congress President, S C Marak and United Democratic Party Chief Donkupar Roy.
Other prominent candidates are Mukul Sangma's wife D D Shira, National Peoples Party chief and former Speaker P A Sangma's two sons – Conrad and James.


Latest News from India News Desk