Similarly, the BJP members took up the post of president in 8 district panchayats and 86 taluka panchayats.
"I congratulate our representatives who have taken charge as presidents in 21 district panchayats and 124 taluka panchayats," state unit Congress president Bharatsinh Solanki
said. He said the party will deliver on electoral promises in the next five years.
BJP spokesperson IK Jadeja said the BJP had won six out of eight district panchayats with clear majority, its representatives won the post of president in eight district bodies on backing of independents.
"In the same way, we got a clear majority in 61 taluka panchayats but our representatives have won the post of president in 86 panchayats due to support of independents and others," he said.
In the local bodies elections held in November, Congress had won 21 out of 31 district panchayats and BJP six. The remaining local bodies delivered a hung verdict. In 230 taluka panchayats that had gone to polls, the Congress won 124 and BJP 61 (However, BJP has presidents in 86 panchayats on support of independents and others). In some of the remaining 20 taluka panchayats, either independents or others came to power or in some cases election of chairman will be held in future, officials said yesterday.

Latest News from State News Desk