New Delhi: In order to woo the Muslims voters in Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections 2012, the Congress party will organize rallies as well as try to influence opinion by stoking debates in the minority-dominated areas by its rallies. The party is striving hard to return back to power in the state after a gap of over 20 years.

Union Coal Minister Sri Prakash Jaiswal-led Congress election campaign committee has given its nod to the outlines under which, the party leaders will apprise the Muslims of the Centre’s welfare schemes meant for the community.

The debates will be conducted in the five zones in the state namely East, West, Ruhilkhand, Bundelkhand and the Central regions.

The first debate will be organized at Lucknow on October 31, following which a public rally will also be convened.

The similar debates will also be organized at Azamgarh and Bareilly on November 10 and November 15, respectively.

Kanpur and Hamirpur will also witness similar debates and rallies, for which dates are yet to be fixed.

There will be 8 issues in the debates to be discussed. About two dozen leaders including party general secretary Rahul Gandhi are likely to attend the same.

As per the strategy, Rahul Gandhi and AICC general secretary and in-charge of UP Digvijay Singh will attend the meeting at the evening after conducting debates.

It is being ensured that the debate programmes does not clash with Rahul’s massive public relation campaign.

Party is highlighting the Sachar Committee recommendations among the Muslims.

In addition, the party has decided to focus on providing 8.44 percent reservation to the minorities in the UPA’s welfare programmes, the package for weavers and fishermen and giving priority to the Urdu language in education.

The formation of an independent minority body and the UPA’s positive stand over waqf property are also on the agenda of the party.

Union Law Minister Salman Khurshid, Mohsina Kidwai, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Rajendra Singh Sachar, Rashid Alvi, Parvez Hashmi, Raj Babbar, Imran Kidwai, Irshad Mirza Beg, Saifuddin Soz, Shakil Ahmed, National Conference leader Farukh Abdullah and Md Azharuddin will also address the public rallies.