Congress also nominated Sultanpur MP Sanjay Singh from Assam besides re-nominating Assam PCC chief Bhubaneswar Kalita from the state.
Dikshit was being talked about as a probable candidate from Haryana where several local leaders were also aspirants. Five names were suggested from Haryana.
The former Delhi chief minister was also being talked about as the probable nominee from Himachal Pradesh but there, too the high command brought Viplove Thakur as a candidate.
Sanjay Singh hails from Amethi and holds considerable influence there. Amethi is the constituency of Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi while Sonia Gandhi contests from neighbouring Rae Bareli. There was earlier speculation that Singh could join the BJP.
Congress general secretaries Digvijay Singh and Madhusudan Mistri were among five Congress nominees for Rajya Sabha elections announced on Monday.
From Andhra Pradesh, Congress re-nominated all the three sitting Rajya Sabha MPs, KVP Ramachandra Rao, MA Khan and T Subbarami Reddy. Khan hails from Hyderabad.
The party had on Sunday announced the names of seven candidates, including Motilal Vora, Murli Deora and Ranjib Biswal from Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra and Odisha respectively.

Hussain Dalwai was also re-nominated from Maharashtra.
Other nominees were Haji Abdul Salam from Manipur and Wansuk Syiem from Meghalaya.
Tuesday is the last date for filing nominations for the February 7 polls and the scrutiny will be held on Wednesday.
The last date for withdrawal of candidature is January 31.

Digvijay Singh's nomination took many by surprise as the AICC general secretary has for some time been expressing his willingness to contest Lok Sabha polls.

Digvijay Singh, who will file his nomination on Tuesday, however, said that all leaders over 65 should move to the Rajya Sabha, the House of Elders.
"Filing nomination for RS today. In this age of youth all of us over 65 should move on to the House of Elders ! Thanks to all who wished me," Digvijay Singh tweeted.


Latest News from India News Desk