Bhopal: The Congress has nominated senior party leader Satyavrat Chaturvedi for biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh. The party has decided not to send its candidate for the second seat given the less number of votes in the state assembly.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has already announced four candidates including senior leader Nazma Heptullah from the state. Now all the five candidates are likely to get elected unopposed from the state. They will file their nomination papers on Monday.

Several leaders like Suresh Pachauri and Ibrahim Qureshi were lobbying hard to get nominated for the one RS seat. Ultimately the Congress President Sonia Gandhi gave her nod to the name of Chaturvedi who has been representing Uttarakhand in the Upper House. He was MLA during Digvijay Singh government. Later Chaturvedi won Khajuraho Lok Sabha seat in 1999.

He was made party spokesperson but removed from the post over giving wrong statement on former Samajwadi Party leader Amar Singh.
He has been close to the Gandhi family. Despite party general secretary Digvijay Singh’s opposition, the Congress nominated Chaturvedi to the Upper House.

Earlier the party had appointed Kantilal Bhuria as Madhya Pradesh Pradesh Congress Committee president and Ajay Singh as the Leader of Opposition. By nominating Chaturvedi for Rajya Sabha, the Congress has hinted a new equation in the state politics.

Earlier the BJP nominated Nazma Heptullah, Faggan Singh Kulaste, Kaptan Singh Solanki and Thawarchand Gehlot to the Upper House.