New Delhi: The anti-incumbency factor seems to repeat itself in the state of Himachal Pradesh as the Congress returned to power by defeating the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Despite being accused of several scams at the Centre, the Congress party fared well in the Himachal Pradesh Assembly election and has improved its tally. Congress gets absolute majority by winning 36 seats while BJP has been reduced to just 26 seats.  

Former Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister and Himachal Pradesh Congress Committee (HPCC) president Virbhadra Singh, who had to leave his Cabinet rank because of serious allegations, won from Shimla (Rural) constituency defeating his BJP rival Ishwar Rohal by 19,033 votes. Singh is also being seen as a strong contender for the CM’s post.

Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister P K Dhumal managed to win from the Hamirpur seat defeating his nearest Congress rival Narinder Thakur by a margin of over 9,500 votes.

Dhumal had won from Bamsan in 2007 by about 30,000 votes but after delimitation, his constituency was scrapped and he had to shift to adjoining constituency of Hamirpur.

State BJP president Satpal Singh Satti has also retained the Una seat defeating Satpal Singh Raizada of Congress by 4,601 votes.

The state recorded highest polling of 74.70 per cent breaking the previous record of 74.51 per cent in 2003.


Latest News from India News Desk