New Delhi: In a bid to set its house in order in Bihar after the defeat in Assembly polls, Congress on Friday constituted a 20-member coordination committee in the state comprising senior leaders.

The committee headed by AICC in-charge of Bihar, Gulchain Singh Charak has been set up seven months after the party’s poor performance in the key state of Hindi heartland.

AICC Secretary Praveen Rashtrapal, Bihar state Congress president Mehboob Ali Kaiser and five former chiefs are among the members of the committee constituted by the party chief Sonia Gandhi.

Dr Shakeel Ahmed, Anil Kumar Sharma, Ram Jatan Sinha, Sadanand Singh and Chandan Bagchi are few of the former BPCC chiefs who have got place in the committee.

Other members of the committee are Kisanganj MP Maulana Asararul Haq, Dr Ashok Kumar, Vijay Shankar Dubey, Syama Singh, Ramdev Rai, Avadesh Kumar Singh, Sanjeev Prasad Tony, Krupanath Pathak, Khalid Saba Ansari, Haridwar Singh Kushwaha, Manorama Singh and Rajni Ranjan Sahu.

Shakeel Ahmed said the committee would advise the PCC president on strengthening the organisation and making the state Congress active in a big way. Kaiser, who lost the Assembly polls, was appointed the PCC chief just before the polls.

(JPN/ Bureau)