Imphal: UPA allies Congress and Trinamool Congress will cross swords in the Manipur Assembly polls with both parties putting up 60 and 47 candidates respectively.

While Congress is contesting in all the seats, this will be the first time that Trinamool is entering the assembly poll fray in a big way.

The only Trinamool MLA, Sarat Singh, had made it to the House after winning the by-poll for Konthoujam seat in Imphal West district last year.

Trinamool chief Mamata Banerjee would campaign in the state and her programme shall be finalised soon, party leader and observer in Manipur Sourav Choudhuri said.

Election office sources said Manipur State Congress Party has fielded 38, NCP 23 and JD(U) 19 candidates.

Prominent candidates in the fray are Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh, Forest Minister Debendra Singh, Food and Civil Supply Minister Y Erabot, Works Minister Ranjit Singh (all Congress), senior NCP leader and former Chief Minister Radhabinod Koijam, Manipur People's Party (MPP) president Nimaichand Luwang and senior MPP leader L Chandramani, election office sources said.

A clear picture about the candidates would be known after withdrawal of nominations on Saturday. A total of 291 candidates are in the fray after the scrutiny on Thursday.

Election office sources said central and state forces have been provided to all the candidates irrespective of party affiliation.

Eight insurgent outfits have 'banned' the Congress ahead of the January 28 polls for being against what they called the 'revolutionary movement' in the state.