Dwijamani who had once represented the constituency, defeated his nearest rival Yumnam Radheshyam of Trinamool Congress by 1,829 votes, they said.
While Dwijamani secured 9,008 votes, Trinamool Congress got 7,179 votes. BJP nominee Maibam Dhanabir got 6,306 votes.
The other two remaining candidates, M Amutombi of Manipur People's Party got 615 votes and Th Laiba of Manipur State Congress Party secured 93 votes.
The by-poll was necessitated following the death of Maibam Dhanabir's father Maibam Kunjo of Trinamool Congress about three months ago.
Kunjo was once a Manipur Information minister.
Counting of votes which began at around 8 am concluded at around 9.30 am Monday morning at the office complex of the Thoubal district deputy commissioner.

Latest News from State News Desk