The 15-member politburo is the highest policy making body of the CPI (M).

"To decide the CPI (M)'s next course of action in view of the Lok Sabha election results, the politburo may decide to convene a meeting of the party's central committee. The committee has 93 members," a CPI (M) leader said.

In this election, the CPI (M) put up 98 candidates, including 11 women and five Independents, in 23 states. In the 2009 general election, the CPI (M) won 16 seats down from 44 seats which it held in the 2004 Lok Sabha polls.

Before the Left parties' debacle in West Bengal assembly polls in 2011, the Left strength in the Lok Sabha plunged to 24 seats in 2009.


Latest News from State News Desk