"Congratulations to @cpimlliberation for winning 3 seats in polarized #BiharElections. Greetings to all who stood with the Left bloc!" the CPI(M) said on micro-blogging site Twitter.

Amid the face-off between BJP-led NDA and the JD(U)-RJD- Congress 'Grand Alliance', the Left Front succeeded in increasing its tally from one seat to three during the election. CPI had managed to bag the lone seat in the last polls when the Left parties contested separately.

The CPI and CPI(M), however, failed to taste success in this election which they had contested as a united independent bloc along with All India Forward Bloc, Socialist Unity Centre of India (C) and Revolutionary Socialist Party, besides CPI-ML (Liberation).

Making a spectacular comeback after their severe drubbing during last year's Lok Sabha polls at the hands of Modi, the newly-formed grand alliance secured 178 seats in the 243-member House.

RJD emerged the leader of the pack with 80 seats while JD (U) bagged 71. Both the parties had contested 101 seats each. The Congress also made impressive gains winning 27 seats out of 41. It had won only four during last assembly election.

Latest News  from Bihar News Desk