"CPI-M candidate Parimal Debnath defeated his Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) rival Ranjit Das by 10,597 votes. The CPI-M secured 20,355 votes, the BJP got 9,758 votes while Congress' Chanchal Dey bagged only 1,231 votes, securing fourth position," Additional chief electoral officer Debashish Modak told a premier news agency.

The nominee of the tribal-based party Indigenous People's Front of Tripura, which had been agitating since 2013 to carve out a separate state of the Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council, Pabitra Mohon Jamatia bagged 1,623 votes.

Reacting on the by-poll results, CPI-M state secretary and central committee member Bijan Dhar told news agency: "The voters supported the CPI-M due to the good governance of the Left Front. Our victory in Tripura will continue in future elections too as our party and government are struggling for peace, development and ethnic integration."

"We must be alert about the situation in which BJP managed second position in the elections. Congress' bankrupt politics took the party to the fourth position in the elections," Dhar said just before leaving for New Delhi where he would attend the party's central committee meeting beginning Wednesday.

Latest News from State News Desk