"I am not with the Government. I am always for secular ethos of the country. I am not going to vote for PDP-BJP alliance," CPI(M) State Secretary and MLA-elect MY Tarigami said.

"I have made it quite clear that I will not be voting for them. This is an opportunist alliance," Tarigami said.

Hakeem Yasin, another Independent candidate who was elected from Khansahib Assembly segment in Budgam district, said, "We are holding a meeting to decide whom to vote for in RS polls".

"Engineer Rasheed (MLA-elect Handwara), Tarigami and I will take a decision in this regard at the meeting on Monday," he said in Srinagar.
Senior Congress leader Gulam Nabi Azad is among seven candidates in the fray for the forthcoming elections for 4 Rajya Sabha seats later this week.
The contestants are: Mir Mohammad Fayaz (PDP), Sajjad Ahmad Kichloo (NC), Shamsher Singh (BJP), Nasir Aslam Wani (NC), Nazir Ahmad Laway (PDP), Chander Mohan Sharma (BJP) and Ghulam Nabi Azad (INC) after the withdrawal of of candidature has been fixed on 31st January.

Latest News from State News Desk