Patna: Amid indications of a possible split in the NDA, a majority of Bihar BJP ministers did not attend their offices on Thursday. There are 11 BJP ministers in Nitish Kumar's cabinet, including Sushil Kumar Modi, who holds the finance portfolio.

Sources close to him said that with the split of ties between JD-U and BJP looking inevitable, Deputy CM Modi has stopped discharging his official functions and will not do so till the stalemate continues.  They added that Modi has given instruction not to bring any file to him for disposal.

JD-U’s stand upsets Bihar BJP leaders

Meanwhile, top Bihar BJP leaders also held an emergency meeting in Patna on Thursday and questioned the rationality of its ally JD-U's 'hue and cry' over its decision to make Narendra Modi the party's Lok Sabha campaign committee chief.

"Can we choose JD-U president or its other office bearers? ... Likewise, no other party has any right to dictate us who should be given what post within the party," state party president Mangal Pandey told reporters here after the two-hour meeting.

"Till June 9, JD-U state chief Bashist Narayan Singh and other leaders were saying the appointment of Narendra Modi is an internal matter of BJP ... What happened to them in the last two-three days that they are making such hue and cry?" he added.

"BJP did nothing against the coalition dharma during this period. Then, why are JD-U leaders talking like this and straining relationship?" he questioned.

Later, BJP national vice-president CP Thakur told reporters that "there is no question of changing the decision (on the elevation of Narendra Modi)."

"This ultimatum is not acceptable to us," Thakur said.

Referring to reports in a section of the press that JD-U is insisting on revisiting the selection of Modi as campaign committee chief and firm confirmation that he will not be made the prime ministerial candidate to end the crisis. The meeting was attended by Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi, BJP national vice-president CP Thakur, all BJP ministers and state party office bearers.


Latest News  from Bihar News Desk