Left-handed batsman Khawaja was adjudged caught behind off spinner Graeme Swann for 1 in the first session at Old Trafford Thursday.

"CA has sought an explanation from the ICC on the dismissal of Usman Khawaja. In our view, the on-field decision and referred decision using Decision Review System (DRS) were both incorrect. CA remains a strong supporter of DRS and believes it is important that cricket continues to improve and build confidence in DRS," said Sutherland.

"We understand and accept that from time to time mistakes can be made. However in this instance, on behalf of the player, the team and all cricket fans, we feel duty bound to seek further explanation as to how this decision was arrived at," he added.


Latest News from Sports News Desk