After Imran Khan's tigers won the ICC Cricket World Cup in 1992, Pakistan have never been able to break the history. Now, the devastating all rounder Shahid Afridi, have got a chance to lead the team and will hope to break the 1992 jinx.

The Wasim Akram-led team, though, came close in 1999, only to be thrashed by Australia in the final. However, Pakistan still enjoy a good success rate in the ICC CWC, having also made it to the semi-finals thrice (1979, 83, 87).

The Men in Green have won 30 matches and lost 24 in the 56 played in nine ICC World Cups.

This time as well, Pakistan's 15-man squad looks potent enough to give the top contenders a hard time.

If Shahid Afridi, Younis Khan and Misbah ul Haq form the crux of the batting, then Umar Gul and Shoaib Akhtar lead the pace attack with all the experience.

One can never negate the presence of Abdul Razzaq, the all-rounder and off-spinner Saeed Ajmal will be very handy in sub-continent conditions.

The green brigade are clubbed with Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Canada and Kenya in Group A.