The wicket keeper Kumar Sangakkara will lead the side in this ICC World Cup with one of the most evenly balanced XI fighters.

The thrilling Tillakaratne Dilshan was the fourth-highest run getter in 2010, constantly providing solid starts along with Upul Tharanga, whose recent showings have kept Sanath Jayasuriya out of the team.

Skipper Sangakkara at one-down has been one of the most consistent one-day performers.

In the bowling department, Thisara Perera was the star of 2010, with 22 wickets in 13 games at a deadly average of 18.90. With Lasith Malinga spearheading the bowling attack along with spin duo Ajantha Mendis and Muttiah Muralitharan, Lanka have a lot of variety in their ranks. The presence of all-rounder Angelo Mathews further lends stability to the XI.

The co-hosts of the tournament, who have the added advantage of playing group games at home, will be looking to better their runners-up position from the last ICC Cricket World Cup. Placed in an easy Group A, including Australia, Pakistan, New Zealand, Kenya, Canada and Zimbabwe.