New Delhi, Jan 27 (Agencies): The Central Vigilance Commission has imposed major penalty on 226 officials of different government organisations for their alleged involvement in corrupt practices.

Out of the total 226, a highest of 50 are from Department of Communications, 36 from Central Board of Excise & Customs, 23 from Ministry of Railways and 13 from State Bank of India.

Besides, 10 officials from Vijaya Bank, nine from Punjab & Sind Bank, eight from MCD, seven from Andhra Bank, 6 from Canara Bank and five each from Allahabad Bank, Bank of India, Punjab National Bank, Power Grid Corporation of India Ltd and UCO Bank have been penalised.

According to the Commission's performance report for December, the anti-corruption watchdog disposed of 804 cases during the month referred to it for advice.

The Commission also affected recoveries to the tune of about Rs 2.78 crore after conducting technical examination of some departments.

It said the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) has received sanction for prosecution against 90 officers and chargesheet were filed against 160 others for their alleged involvement in graft.

"The Commission is deeply concerned over continuing delays in filling the post of Chief Vigilance Officers (CVOs) in several key organisations like Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited (BHEL), Delhi Transport Corporation (DTC),Bharat Earth Movers Limited (BEML) and  National Aluminium Company (NALCO).

The Government is being regularly reminded," the report said.