Seema, who had won a bronze in 2010 Delhi Games and a silver medal in 2006 Melbourne, threw the discus to 61.61m, her season's best, to grab the silver late on Friday night while a struggling Krishna could just come up with a below-par effort of 57.84m.
Seema achieved her best throw in the penultimate attempt after coming up with 53.64m, 58.87m and 58.62m in her first three throws. Her fourth and final attempts were foul throws.'
The 31-year-old Seema from Haryana has now won a medal in each of the last three Commonwealth Games.
Former world champion Dani Samuels won the gold comfortably with a throw of 64.88m, which she achieved in her third attempt.

Jade Lally of England won the bronze with a best throw of 60.48m.
Krishna has been struggling all throughout the season even after recovering from a groin injury post the 2012 London Olympics. Her season's best was 59.17m though she holds the national record of 64.76m.
Krishna, who qualified as 11th on Thursday, began with a foul throw and her five attempts later on read 52.79m, 57.84m, 56.83m, 56.55m, 55.58m.
Meanwhile, Sahana Kumari finished a disappointing eighth in the women's high jump finals with a best effort of 1.86m. Sahana has a personal best of 1.92m and season's best of
Eleanor Patterson of Australia won the gold with 1.94m.

Meanwhile, it was curtains for India in the men's 4x400m relay event after the quartet of Kunhu Muhammed Pathanpurakkal, Jithu Baby, Jibin Jibin Sebastian and Arokia Rajiv was disqualified in the preliminary round.
The women's 4x400m relay team, however, made it to the finals even though they finished fifth in the Round One Heat number two.

The quartet of Debashree Mazumdar, Tintu Luka, Ashwini Akkunji and M R Poovamma clocked 3:33.67s and qualified eighth and last overall.
Women's 4x100m relay team of Sharadha Narayan, Asha Roy, Srabani Nanda and H M Jyothi also qualified for the final round despite finishing fifth in the heat with a time of
44.41s. The Indian quartet qualified eighth and last.
Men's triple jumper Arpinder qualified for the final round after finishing second in qualification Group A round with an effort of 16.51m which he achieved in his last and final effort. Arpinder finished fourth overall in the qualification round.
In men's javeline throw also, two Indians – Ravinder Singh Khaira and Vipin Kasana qualified for the final round as the 11th and 12th overall. The final round will be competed among 12 throwers.
Khaira finished sixth in qualification Group A with a best effort of 72.18m, while Kasana also finished sixth in qualification Group B with a best throw of 71.95m.

Latest News from Sports News Desk