New Delhi: CPI leader D Raja has filed his nomination for the June 27 Rajya Sabha biennial elections from Tamil Nadu.

A formal announcement on Raja's nomination will be announced soon by CPI General Secretary Sudhakar Reddy. Reddy and senior party leader AB Bardhan had recently met Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Jayalalithaa in Delhi to seek the ruling AIADMK's support for Raja's candidature.

However, Jayalalithaa had told the CPI delegation that the entire strength of her party in the state assembly would be used to elect five of her party leaders to Rajya Sabha.

The tenure of Raja, along with A Elavarasan, V Maitreyan (both AIADMK), Kanimozhi, Tiruchi N Siva (both DMK) and BS Gnanadesikan (Congress) expires on July 27.

On Saturday, DMK had nominated sitting MP M Kanimozhi, daughter of party president M Karunanidhi, as its candidate for the Rajya Sabha elections.


Latest News from India News Desk