Kolkata, Jan 27 (Jagran News Network): With the selectors opting for a spin-oriented side for the cricket World Cup 2011, former India captain Sourav Ganguly on Thursday took on BCCI for omitting S Sreesanth from the squad.

“I am very disappointed with the BCCI; why have they axed Sree from the World Cup squad”, Dada asked at a public event.

Ganguly also stated that the selectors had played a gamble in picking only one wicketkeeper in skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni for the WC.

The selectors picked the World Cup squad in Chennai on January 17 and chose four medium pacers in Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Praveen Kumar and Munaf Patel. They picked only MS Dhoni for the wicketkeeper's slot and ignored Parthiv Patel, Dinesh Karthik and Wriddhiman Saha.

"It was a gamble by the selectors to pick just one wicketkeeper in Dhoni. If he picks up an injury during the World Cup and is unable to keep, then who will stand behind the wicket?" Ganguly questioned.

Ganguly also criticized the decision to ignore Sreesanth who had a memorable Test series in South Africa.

"It's really surprising to see Sreesanth out of the side despite his recent form and performance," he said Kolkata.

The exclusion of middle-order batsman Rohit Sharma also raised a few questions but Ganguly said the decision did not surprise him.

"Sharma is a very talented player. But it seems after getting enough chances, he failed to gain the selectors' confidence. You have to perform at top level to get noticed. But he got many chances unlike many other talented youngsters but failed to impress."

Asked about Yusuf Pathan's selection for the all-rounders spot, Ganguly said: "I don't think he has already proved himself. However, he is the best possible choice we have right now."

India are in Group-B in the World Cup along with Bangladesh, England, South Africa, West Indies, Ireland and The Netherlands.

Squad for WC2011: MS Dhoni (capt & wk), Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Praveen Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Munaf Patel, Piyush Chawla, R Ashwin