Dehradun: Development, amelioration of people hailing from lower crust of society and good governance that are echoed by leaders all over the years of their terms, but reality tells another tale. Come elections, all political parties play Dalit and minorities cards as well as they make high-decibel promises for their well being. But at time of ticket distribution, only setting-getting formula is applied that gives benefit to only those who wield political clout. The candidates’ list for Uttarkhand assembly elections is a tell-tale sign of the lip-services paid by leaders in terms of representation of people from all quarters.

The stage is all set for the assembly elections in Uttarakhand and all political parties are readying themselves to draw up their winning strategies. Notably, the Minorities and Other Backward Castes (OBC) have become tools to harvest political gains.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Congress and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) are the major parties fighting for the shares of votes in the assembly election.

Out of the 70 assembly seats in the state, 15 are reserved for SC/ST category. Hence, nominating an SC/ST candidate to contest polls from these seats becomes obligatory for the parties.  But if we talk about the remaining 55 seats, both the national parties including Congress and BJP have not nominated any of its MLA belonging to the reserved category to contest from these seats this time.

Interestingly, state Congress committee president Yashpal Arya, who contested from the Mukhteshwar assembly seat, has been nominated to contest the polls from the reserved Bajpur seat this time.

The condition remains similar with the BJP. The party has nominated candidates belonging to minority group for two seats, Muslims and Sikhs have been given one seat each.

The Congress has nominated five from minorities, one Sikh and four Muslims for the assembly seats.

Interestingly, the case remains entirely different with the BSP as compared to its arch rivals. The party, with the aim of wooing the Dalit vote bank, has nominated a larger number of candidates from the reserved category. The party has announced eight candidates who will contest elections from the reserved seats.

It is noteworthy, Haridwar, Udham Singh Nagar, Nainital and Dehradun, having the highest populace of the minorities, will be the major target for the BSP during the elections.