Pellekele: After registering a scintillating win against Pakistan, Ross Taylor on Tuesday said that his captain Daniel Vettori did not suffer a serious injury during the World Cup match against Pakistan here and is expected to be fit quickly to lead the side.

VIEW FULL SCORECARD: New Zealand Vs Pakistan

NZ outplay Pakistan at Candy

"It is just a bit of jarring (on his knee). He should be fine. We'll know it in the next couple of days. He is such an important member of the side and we need him in the tournament," Taylor, who set up his side to a 110-run win with an unbeaten 131, said after the match.

Taylor, who stood in for Vettori after the sixth over of the Pakistan's run chase, praised the bowlers for demolishing the opposition top order.

"To have them six down before 20 overs was a credit for the bowlers. We didn't want to be complacent at the break," said Taylor, who was named man-of-the-match.

Asked about his own innings, Taylor said, "I had a bit of luck early on, even when I was at 30 or 40, but the way Nathan (McCullum) and Jake (Jacob Oram) came out and hit the ball, it rubbed off to me."

"It is a long way to go for us and we have to play well in the remaining matches," he said.

A furious Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi said his side have no excuse to offer for today's loss but promised not to repeat this in the remaining matches of the World Cup.

"We have no excuse. We didn't bowl, bat and field well. We dropped catches and missed the opportunities. Fielding is an important part of the game, you can win games based on fielding. But I am confident we will not repeat this performance," he said.

"Taylor played a very good innings. But if you give chance to any batsman you have to pay dear. This is a World Cup game and we should have focussed more. We should learn from what we did in this game."



New Zealand: Daniel Vettori (captain), Brendon McCullum (wicketkeeper), Marton Guptill, Jamie How, Ross Taylor, James Franklin, Scott Styris, Niall McCullum, Kyle Mills, Tim Southee, Jacob Oram.

Shahid Afridi (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Kamran Akmal (wicketkeeper), Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Umar Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Abdur Rehman, Umar Gul, Shoaib Akhtar.

Umpires: Daryl Harper (Aus) and Nigel Llong (Eng)

Third Umpire:
Ian Gould (NZ)

Match Referee: Chris Broad (Eng).