Raipur: In-form David Warner played yet another blistering knock of 66 as Delhi Daredevils comfortably defeated defending champions Kolkata Knight Riders by seven wickets in a Pepsi Indian Premier League match on Wednesday.

Chasing a modest target of 137, Warner and young Unmukt Chand (37, 4x4) added 95 runs for the third-wicket partnership as the 'home' team won the game with 13 balls to spare. This was also a sweet revenge for Daredevils, who had lost in the tournament opener against the same side.
The win was Daredevils' third in the competition and with six points, they managed to stay afloat in the competition.
KKR slumped to their seventh defeat in 10 matches due to another shoddy batting and fielding performance. Although Delhi remain on eighth position but back-to-back wins will definitely give them a lot of confidence for their coming matches.
It was Warner again, who is doing what exactly Kevin Pietersen did last season as he revels in the role of a finisher. His unbeaten 42-ball innings had five fours and three sixes and he always looked in control despite the loss of the two senior openers.
Virender Sehwag (17) got a 'life' when Gambhir dropped a dolly at short cover with the batsman on 11. But the veteran opener failed to cash in as he guided a delivery from Jacques Kallis to Yusuf Pathan at first slip who caught it on second attempt.
Mahela Jayawardene (5) was also dismissed in an identical fashion as he gave a catch to Jacques Kallis at first slip off Lakshmipathy Balaji's bowling.
Unmukt finally did some justice to his talent as he played some deft shots including a glance and an upper-cut off Kallis.
The 50-run partnership came off 47 balls while the 100 came in 15 overs. Warner completed his half-century off 35 balls with two successive pull shots off Balaji -- one in front of the wicket and the other over square leg as they inched closer towards victory.
Earlier, Daredevils produced a commendable bowling performance and were complemented by brilliant fielding which enabled them to restrict KKR to 136 for seven.
Delhi Daredevils: Mahela Jayawardene (c), Virender Sehwag, Unmukt Chand, David Warner, Ben Rohrer, Kedar Jadhav, Irfan Pathan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Morne Morkel, Umesh Yadav and Ashish Nehra.
Kolkata Knight Riders:
Gautam Gambhir (c), Manvinder Bisla, Jacques Kallis, Yusuf Pathan, Eoin Morgan, Rajat Bhatia, Debabrata Das, Sumit Narwal, Brett Lee, Sunil Narine and Lakshmipathy Balaji.


Latest News from Sports News Desk