Kingston (Jamaica): India took control of the first Test against the West Indies as they were 164 runs ahead with seven wickets in hand at the end of the second day's play at the Sabina Park here on Tuesday.


Match Report: Day 1

India were 91 for three in their second innings after they bowled out the West Indies for 173 courtesy some brilliant bowling by debutant Praveen Kumar (3/38) and Ishant Sharma (3/39). 

Rahul Dravid (45) and Virat Kohil (14) were at the crease with the latter being dropped when he had only made six runs.

India made 246 in the first innings.  India got the early breakthrough in Ramaresh Sarwan (3) when he was trapped leg before by Sharma with the West Indies adding a run to their overnight score of 34 for one. 

Top-scorer Adrian Barath (64) and Darren Bravo (18) settled things down and added 56 runs for the third wicket. 

Barath, who made a comeback in this match after an injury lay-off, looked comfortable for most part of his innings before Kumar had him caught behind at 91 for his maiden wicket in Tests. 

Kumar had his trademark out swingers going by this time and he quickly added two more to his wicket tally, sending back Bravo and Brendan Nash (2) with the West Indies struggling at 119 for five by lunch time. 

Spinners Harbhajan Singh (2/51) and Amit Mishra (2/51) got into the act post break as the West Indies were once made to look susceptible against the slower bowlers. 

Once the experienced Shivnarine Chanderpaul (23) and Carlton Baugh (27) fell to Harbhajan, it did not take much time for India to clean off the tail. 

India, now in complete control of the match, began their second innings on a bad note, losing Murali Vijay (0) in the second over. 

The pace duo of Ravi Rampaul and Fidel Edwards were impressive again and made life difficult for the Indian batsmen. 

Dravid and debutant Abhinav Mukund (25) steadied the ship with a 56-run partnership. Mukund, however, failed to capitalise on a good start and edged one to the wicket-keeper off leggie Devendra Bishoo. 

Laxman failed for second time in a row by giving a catch back to opposition captain Darren Sammy. The Hyderabad batsman lasted five balls and did not trouble the scorers.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Abhinav Mukund, Murali Vijay, Virat Kohli, Rahul Dravid, VVS Laxman, Suresh Raina, Harbhajan Singh, Amit Mishra, Praveen Kumar and Ishant Sharma.

West Indies: Darren Sammy (capt), Brendan Nash (vice-captain), Adrian Barath, Carlton Baugh, Devendra Bishoo, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Fidel Edwards, Ravi Rampaul, Lendl Simmons and Ramnaresh Sarwan.