New Delhi: India were 80/1 at stumps on Day 4 of first Test match against England at the Lord’s on Sunday.

India vs England: First Test 
Team Profile INDIA Team Profile ENGLAND
India, England face off in century Test

Rahul Dravid (34*) and VVS Laxman (32*) were at the crease when the day’s play was called off.

Both the Indian prolific batsmen have put on an unbeaten 61 runs partnership for the second wicket.

Earlier, England pacer Stuart Broad got the first success for his team in the form of Abhinav Mukund (12).

Broad scalped Mukund in the same fashion again as he did in the first innings. Broad delivered a back of a length angled across just outside off, Mukund hung back and stabbed at it without any feet movement, got an inside edge that clatters into middle and leg stump.

India were set a target of 458 to win the match after England declared their second innings on 269 for six after tea.

No side has made more in the 2,000 matches of Test cricket history to win a Test in the fourth innings than the 418 for seven posted by the West Indies against Australia in Antigua in 2002/03.

England batsman Matt Prior struck a magnificent Test century against India as the hosts declared their second innings on 269/6 with a massive lead of 458 runs on fourth Day.

Prior’s sixth Test ton came off 120 balls which includes five fours and one six. Prior was involved in 162 runs unbeaten partnership with Stuart Broad (74*) for the seventh wicket.

Broad and Prior resumed batting after tea against India. 

Matt Prior struck a valuable unbeaten half-century to guide England to 174 for six and extend their overall lead to 362 at tea.

Having weathered an early storm due to some incisive bowling from Ishant Sharma, Prior turned things around by playing sensibly in his unbeaten knock of 55, and he was ably supported by Stuart Broad (36 not out off 56 balls).

The duo's half-century partnership has put the hosts in a commanding position, as the highest chase ever managed at Lord's was by West Indies in 1984, when they scored 344 for one in the last innings.

India have a wealth of experience in batting, but Sachin Tendulkar not taking the field in England's second innings due to viral infection, is a cause for concern for the visitors.

Tendulkar, chasing his 100th international century, could now come out to bat only at number seven when India bats the second time.

MCC's Rule 2.1.2 says that "the player shall not be permitted to bat unless or until, in the aggregate, he has returned to the field and/or his side's innings has been in progress for at least that length of playing time for which he has been absent or, if earlier, when his side has lost five wickets".

To make matters worse, opener Gautam Gambhir, fielding at forward short leg, got hit on his left elbow by a sweep from Prior off Harbhajan Singh when the score was 157 for six.

Gambhir, after being attended by team physio, left the field holding his left arm.

The feeling is that it could be a swelling but if the left-hander is diagnosed with a fracture, it would be disastrous for India, who are looking to save the match.

Indian pacer Ishant Sharma claimed his fourth wicket in the form of Eoin Morgan. Morgan scored 19 runs off 56 balls with the help of one boundary.

Matt Prior and Eoin Morgan resumed batting after lunch on fourth Day. England were 72/5 at lunch against India on fourth Day.

Ishant Sharma spread panic in English ranks with three wickets off just 16 deliveries as Indian bowlers put up an inspired performance during the morning session on the fourth day.

Ishant blew away the top-order as England were reduced to 72 for five in the pre-lunch session but a handy first innings lead of 188 meant that the overall lead swelled to 260.

The highest ever successful chase recorded at Lord's is by West Indies way back in 1984 when they chased down the target of 344 runs based on Gordon Greenidge's epic 214.

Indians bowled 26 overs in the morning session and conceded only 67 runs while accounting for five England wickets.

The last four England wickets fell within a space of 32 balls for the addition of only eight runs.

Ishant dismissed Kevin Pitersen (1), Ian Bell (0) and Jonathan Trott (22) in two spells of hostile fast bowling for the morning figures of 11-5-14-3.

Indeed, his productive spell had sizzling figures of 5-3-4-3.

Indeed England lost four of their prime batsmen in a matter of 32 balls as Harbhajan Singh had accounted for England skipper Andrew Strauss (32) in the over before Sharma began his mayhem.

Ironically, both Ishant and Harbhajan, presently the toast of the Indian team, had sent down 32 and 35 wicketless overs conceding 128 and 152 runs respectively in England's first innings.

Praveen Kumar who got a five-for in the first innings started the rot when he got Alastair Cook (1) edging one to Mahendra Singh Dhoni behind stumps. Cook was getting increasingly frustrated during his 27-ball stay.

Credit to the Indian bowlers and fielders who lifted themselves with a praiseworthy performance in the absence of Zaheer Khan who will not bowl in this innings as well as Sachin Tendulkar who has not taken the field due to viral fever.

If Sachin fails to field, he will only come out to bat after the fall of the fifth wicket.

Ishant took Pietersen (1) out of the equation with a well directed bouncer as the double centurion who tried coming out of his crease and the snorter took him by surprise. The ball kissed his gloves and gave Dhoni his second victim of the innings.

Ishant who normally bowls from back-of-length had largely bowled full and trying to draw the batsmen forward.

Bell (0) played and missed a couple of Ishant's deliveries before he edged one to Dhoni that was angled into him.

Ishant's third strike of the morning was an incoming delivery bowled fuller to draw Trott forward. Trott went for the drive but was castled as the delivery zipped through the gap between bat and pad.


Andrew Strauss (capt), Alistair Cook, Jonathan Trott, Kevin Pietersen, Ian Bell, Eoin Morgan, Matt Prior (wk), Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, James Anderson, Chris Tremlett.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt & wk), Gautam Gambhir, Abhinav Mukund, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Suresh Raina, Harbhajan Singh, Praveen Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma.

Umpires:  Billy Bowden (New Zealand) and Asad Rauf (Pakistan).
Third umpire: Marais Erasmus (South Africa)
Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka)