Surprising everyone, this dusky diva took home two Best actress trophies (Jury and Popular) for her power packed performances in 'Goliyon Ki Rasleel Ram Leela' and 'Chennai Express'.

When Deepika’s name was announced as the winner for Best actress awards, all those present at the awards ceremony seemed surprised.

An emotional yet surprised Deepika accepted the award with grace and said that she didn’t expect to bag the honours in both the categories.  “I didn't expect this award,” she said.

While Deepika was named the Best actress, Farhan Akhtar got The Best Actor (Jury) award for his role in 'Bhaag Milkha Bhaag'. This movie also won the Best Film award for its brilliant portrayal of athlete Milkha Singh's life.

Superstar Shah Rukh Khan bagged the Best Actor (Popular) award for his superb performance in Rohit Shetty’s ‘Chennai Express’. The ‘Badshah’, who accepted the award from veteran actress Rekha on the occasion, thanked his kids for being his inspiration.

John Abraham’s 'Madras Cafe' was the surprise element as the film based on the Sri Lankan civil war fetched four awards. Shoojit Sircar bagged the Best Director’s award. Megastar Amitabh Bachchan was felicitated with the Life Time Achievement Award for his contribution to Indian cinema.

Here is the list of winners:

Best Actor (Jury Award)
Farhan Akhtar for Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
Best Actor (Popular)
Shah Rukh Khan for Chennai Express
Best Actress (Popular)
Deepika Padukone for Goliyon Ki Rasleela Ram-Leela and Chennai Express
Best Actress (Jury Award)
Deepika Padukone for Goliyon Ki Rasleela Ram-Leela and Chennai Express
Best Director Award
Shoojit Sircar
Best Film
Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
Lifetime Achievement Award
Amitabh Bachchan
Best VFX Award
Red Chillies Entertainment for Krrish 3
Best Dialogues
Sameer Gautam Singh for Shahid
Best Screenplay
Best Story
Mohan Sikka for B.A Pass
Best Ensemble Cast
Sanjay Tripathi for Club 60
Best singer (Male)
Arijit Singh for Tum Hi Ho (Aashiqui 2)
Best Playback Singer (Female)
Shreya Ghoshal for Sunn Raha Hai Na, Aashiqui 2
Best Music
Pritam for Yeh Jawaani Hain Deewani
Life Ok Screen Hero Award
Deepika Padukone
Best Supporting Actor (Male)
Saurabh Shukla for Jolly LLB
Best Supporting Actor (Female)
Swara Bhaskar for Raanjhanaa
Best comic Male/Female
Bholi Punjaban Richa Chadda for Fukrey
Best Actor in Negative Role
Rishi Kapoor
Best child artiste
Japtej Singh
Best Action
Manohar Verma for Madras Cafe
Most promising debut director:
Ritesh Batra for Lunchbox
Most Promising Newcomer Male
Sushant Singh Rajput for Kai Po Che
Special jury's award
Ship of Theseus
Most Promising Newcomer Female
Aida Ei Kashef for Ship Of Theseus
Best costume
Anju Modi, Maxima Basu, Goliyon Ki Rasleela Ram-Leela
Best Choreographer
Remo D'Souza, Badtameez Dil, Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani
Best Background Score
Bhaag Milkha Bhaag


Latest Newsfrom Entertainment News Desk