"It's a clear violation of the Tenth Schedule, which states that defection will not apply only in case the original party, along with its 2/3rd legislature party, merges with another party or a new political party is formed," JVM Legislature Party leader Pradip Yadav said at a press conference here.

Quoting the Constitution and pointing out as to how an  MLA attracts disqualification if the member voluntarily gives up membership of such political party among other provisions, he said "But, in this case only six MLAs joined and not the original party. We will move the (office of) Speaker and if we don't get justice there within two days, we will move the High Court," Yadav said.

He said the party observed 'black day' on Wednesday in protest against the 'violation of the Constitution' and its leaders and activists would observe fast on the day Chief Minister Raghubar Das expands his Cabinet.

He alleged that BJP's unconstitutional step "shamed" the country and was a "dark lesson to the book of democracy" on a day when it observes the death anniversary of Pandit Deendayal Upadhyay.

Yadav further alleged despite winning a majority in the recently held Assembly elections, BJP indulged in poaching "because they want to give mineral resources to the rich."
"The six MLAs - Naveen Jaiswal, Amar Kumar Bauri, Ganesh Ganju, Alok Kumar Chourasia, Ranjit Singh and Janki Yadav, who joined the BJP earlier in the day, are politically immature," Yadav said. The JVM had won eight seats in the Assembly elections.


Latest News from State News Desk