New Delhi: Former Defence Secretary Pradeep Kumar was on Thursday sworn-in as the new Central Vigilance Commissioner (CVC) replacing P J Thomas whose appointment was struck down by the Supreme Court in March.

President Pratibha Patil administered the oath of office to 62-year-old Kumar, a 1972 batch IAS officer of Haryana cadre, at a brief function in Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Vice President Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Cabinet Secretary Ajit Seth, Chief Election Commissioner S Y Quraishi, Minister of State for Department of Personnel and Training V Narayansamy and Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj were among those present at the swearing-in ceremony lasted for about 10 minutes.

The Supreme Court had on March 3 quashed the appointment of Thomas citing a pending charge sheet in a corruption case against him in Kerala. Since then, the post has been lying vacant.

Kumar was chosen for the CVC's post unanimously by a panel comprising the Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Home Minister P Chidambaram and Swaraj about a fortnight ago.

He will have a tenure of a little over three years.

The post of CVC fell vacant after the Apex Court quashed the appointment of Thomas as a charge sheet was pending against him in a corruption case.