A notification issued by the Home Ministry said that President Pranab Mukherjee has dissolved the "Legislative Assembly of the National Capital Territory of Delhi with immediate effect" on November 4.

The Union Cabinet had on Tuesday recommended the dissolution of the Assembly following recommendation of LG Najeeb Jung after talks on Monday with BJP, Congress and AAP which expressed inability to form government and sought fresh mandate.

While the fresh elections may be held early next year, the process for the November 25 by-elections to three constituencies, for which last date of nominations is today, was revoked by the Election Commission on Wednesday.

Election Commission axes notification for Delhi by-polls

The Election Commission cancelled the notification for by-election in three assembly constituencies in Delhi following the dissolution of the state assembly.

The Election Commission had on October 25 announced that Mehrauli, Tughlakabad and Krishna Nagar would go to the polls November 25.

BJP legislators from the three places were elected to the Lok Sabha in May.Delhi has been under President's rule since Febraury 17.

Latest News from India News Desk