Stunning many a political heavyweights, the greenhorn conceded, out of those 20, only two seats to Congress while losing the remaining to BJP.
While AAP's candidate from RK Puram seat, Shazia Ilmi missed the Assembly bus by mere 326 votes to BJP's Anil Kumar Sharma, it lost Sultanpur Majra seat to Congress' Jai Kishan by only a little over 1,100 votes.
The crucial Rajinder Nagar seat saw Transport Minister Ramakant Goswami finishing with the third spot and AAP losing to BJP by about 1,800 votes.
In Bijwasan, Dwaraka, Kalkaji and and Tri Nagar each, the new party lost by a margin of 2000-3000 votes.
In South Delhi, the new entrant notched up Greater Kailash, Kasturba Nagar, Sangam Vihar, Ambedkar Nagar, Deoli, and gave a close fight to BJP's Parvesh Sahib Singh who toppled Speaker Yoganand Shastri from Mehrauli. AAP finished second here losing by a margin of 4,564 votes.
Constituted only a year back, the AAP surprised political pundits and trend-watchers this election by routing Congress and thwarting BJP's march toward getting the magic number of 36, thus throwing the city into a hung assembly.
Its party chief and New Delhi constituency's candidate-elect Arvind Kejriwal stormed outgoing three-time Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit's bastion, trouncing her with over 25,000 votes.
The rookie politician-led AAP finished second spot, relegating the 127-year-old party to a third position, fighting on the "pro-people" and "anti-corruption" poll plank.
The elections witnessed AAP party giving moments of scare to the saffron party during counting, which riding on a strong anti-incumbency wave has emerged as the single largest party in Delhi and is forming governments in other three states - Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh, the results for which were announced on Sunday.


Latest News from India News Desk