With the declaration of the poll schedule, the EC said the Model Code of Conduct will come into force with immediate effect.
The full Commission, comprising Chief Election Commissioner V S Sampath and Election Commissionsers H S Brahma and Nasim Zaidi, said the notification for the polls will be issued on January 14 while the last date for filing nominations will be January 21. The last date of scrutiny will be January 22.
Sampath told a press conference here that 1.30 crore voters were eligible to exercise their franchise across 70 constituencies in the National Capital Territory (NCT) of Delhi.

READ MORE: PM Modi assures uninterrupted power supply in Delhi
"The dissolution (of the Delhi Assembly) order of the President will expire by February 15 and in order to restore the mandate of the people as expeditiously as possible, the Commission has decided to go in for elections where the results will be known well before February 15," Sampath said.
The CEC said that the NCT will witness a "very heated and hectic" political campaign as there are no polls being held anywhere in the country during this period and the "focus of all political parties" will be here.

READ MORE: Election Commission issues stern warning over hate speeches
He said the EC has put up mechanisms to conduct a free and fair election in Delhi and all measures to check the use of "money power" will be taken.
He said the updated electoral rolls for these elections have already been published on January 5.
The last government in Delhi was headed by the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) but Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal resigned 49 days after assuming office.

Voters can check their names in electoral list through phones

Delhiites can now check their names in the voters' list and also know the polling officer of their area through their smartphone with the election office here launching an android app - 'Delhi Election'.

"People can find out their names in electoral roll by downloading 'Delhi Election' aap in their smartphones. Besides, they can also check application status and their constituency through this android app launched recently," said a senior official.

He said that apart from that, people can also know their election officer and booth-level officer (BLO) of their area through this app.

MUST READ: Congress will again back AAP if needed: Sheila Dikshit

"As most people use smartphones, this app will prove very useful for them and they can get any public information pertaining to the upcoming Assembly elections on their phones," the official said.

AAP in straight contest with BJP, says Arvind Kejriwal

Aam Aadmi Party leader Arvind Kejriwal said that his party is in straight contest with the BJP in the coming Delhi polls, as the Congress has lost its presence in the national capital.

"Last time they (Congress and BJP) took us lightly, every one including media showed that we will get two or three seats, no one expected that we will win so many number of seats, no one expected that we would form the government, but this time things have changed in Delhi," Kejriwal said.  
Speaking at an event on the topic 'Delhi elections: Opportunities and Possibilities Of Alternative Politics', he said, "Congress doesn't have any presence, there is straight fight between Aam Aadmi Party and the BJP."

READ MORE: HC pulls up Election Commission over 'bogus' voters
"BJP is fighting and winning elections one after the other Lok Sabha, Maharashtra, Haryana, Jharkhand, but coming to Delhi they are feeling breathless," he added.

Former Congress MPs may contest Delhi Assembly polls

Former Congress MPs from Delhi could be asked to contest assembly elections as the party seeks to put up the best available candidates for the polls after losing ground in several recent state elections.

An indication to this effect was given by senior party leader P C Chacko, who is in charge of party affairs in Delhi.
Former MPs have not applied for tickets but the Central Election Committee of the party which is meeting on Monday could take a call on the issue, he told reporters.

"The party wants to put up best candidates," he said.
If the party decides so, it will mean that AICC General Secretary Ajay Maken, former Union ministers Kapil Sibal and Krishna Tirath, Sandeep Dikshit and Jai Prakash Agarwal could be among those making a bid for Delhi Assembly in polls likely to be held in February.
All seven Congress candidates lost heavily in Lok Sabha polls and the party finished third in all the seats.
Chacko also played down reports that DPCC Chief Arvinder Singh Lovely may not contest, noting that his name has already been announced as a party candidate. "There will be a second list but no second though," he said.
Congress however said that it would not project any Chief Ministerial candidate.
In a rebut to former Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit's comment that Congress may support AAP again, he said the party is not going to play a second fiddle.
"We are going to play a crucial role and our strength would be considerable," he said about post-poll prospects.
Congress was elected to eight seats in the 70-member Assembly in the last Delhi polls.

Latest News from States News Desk